Home Calendar Media Officers Members Resources

For Immediate Release: Contact:
TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 21, 1993 Corey Bearak
(718) 343-6779


Corey B. Bearak of Bellerose was unanimously re-elected as President of the Northeast Queens Jewish Community Council [NEQJCC] at a meeting last night [Monday, September 20, 1993] at Temple Sholom in Floral Park. Mr. Bearak, an attorney with experience in state and city government, is beginning his third term as NEQJCC President.

In addition to Mr. Bearak [Temple Sholom & Samuel Field Y], the re-elected officers include First Vice President Joseph Varon [Young Israel of New Hyde Park & Queens Jewish Committee on Scouting], Second Vice President Al Levy [Bellerose Jewish Center & Queens Purim Parade], Third Vice President Anne Kirsch [Deepdale Haddassah], Treasurer Susan Fogel [Young Israel of Windsor Park], Recording Secretary Marcia Federman [Queens Jewish Community Council & Jewish Center of Bayside Hills] and Corresponding Secretary Gladys Rand [Temple Sholom]. The officers were recommended by a nominating committee chaired by Past President Rabbi Meyer Bilitzky.

Mr. Bearak works as Counsel/ Chief of Staff to Councilman Sheldon Leffler who chairs the Council's Public Safety Committee. He also serves on the Board of the Queens Jewish Community Council Mr. Bearak served on Community School Board 26 from 1989 to June, 1993 and on Community Board 13 from 1980 to 1988.

An association of community, education, fraternal and religious organizations, the NEQJCC covers Bay Terrace, Bayside, Bellerose, Douglaston, Floral Park, Glen Oaks, Hollis Hills, Little Neck, New Hyde Park, Oakland Gardens and Queens Village (north) Its activities include neighborhood development, sponsorship of political forums with major public figures, combatting anti-Semitism, Jewish cultural events, an annual Health Expo, the welfare of immigrant Jews, open discussions with local Rabbis, a Bikur Cholim Society, and representing community concerns. For information, contact Executive Director Sharon Nadel at (718) 225-6750.



Home | Calendar | Media | Officers | Members | Resources