Home Calendar Media Officers Members Resources

For Immediate Release: Contact:
MONDAY, OCTOBER 30, 2000 Corey Bearak
(718) 343-6779

Honor JCRC�s Michael Miller, Y Exec Steve Goodman, late Hal Goldberg & Student Jonathan Bearak

The Northeast Queens Jewish Community Council honored Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater New York Executive Director Michael Miller, Samuel Field YM&YWHA Executive Vice President Steven Goodman, late Queens Jewish Community Council leader Harold Goldberg and student Jonathan Bearak at its Annual Installation and Awards Breakfast, Sunday, October 29, 2000. District Attorney Richard Brown installed the Council's officers including Chairman of the Executive Committee Corey Bearak and President Joseph M. Varon at the 10:00 a.m. function at the Young Israel of Holliswood, 86-25 Francis Lewis Boulevard, one block south of the Grand Central Parkway.

President Varon presented Rabbi Miller with the Council's Award for Outstanding Service to the Community of Greater New York Award. Dr. Goodman received the Council's Award for Outstanding Service to the Northeast Queens Community from NEQJCC Executive Director Sharon Nadel. Queens Jewish Community Council (QJCC) Executive Director Manny Behar presented a special award for Outstanding Service to Queens to the widow of Hal Goldberg, a long-time QJCC officer. Jonathan Bearak, a high school freshman who developed the Council�s www.northeastqueensjewish.org website,was presented a Yasher Koach ("Good Works") award by City Councilman Sheldon S. Leffler, for the 14-year-old�s special contribution to the Council�s neighborhood development program.

In addition to Mr. Varon [Young Israel of New Hyde Park & Queens Jewish Committee on Scouting], a teacher for the NYC Board of Education, and Mr. Bearak [Temple Sholom],District Attorney Brown installed First Vice President Jeff Gurdus [Bellerose Jewish Center], Second Vice President Helene Zaro [Bell Park Jewish Center], Third Vice President Ethel Levine [Hillcrest Jewish Center], Secretary Dr. Leonard Stieglitz [Jewish Center of Bayside Hills] and Treasurer David Weprin [Young Israel of Holliswood and Young Israel of Jamaica Estates], who chairs the function..

A past honoree, Mr. Bearak is Vice President of the Queens Jewish Community Council and Executive Vice President of the Queens Civic Congress, and serves as Legislative Counsel to the Bronx Borough President Fernando Ferrer.

Dignitaries attending included Queens D.A.. Richard Brown; State Senator Frank Padavan; State Assembly Member Mark Weprin; City Council Member Sheldon Leffler; City Council Member Helen Marshall; Former NYC Board of Education President Carol Gresser; former Commissioner Carmine Perrotta of the NYS Workers Compensation Board; Sylvia Weprin; 33rd A.D. Democratic Leader Henry McCoy; 24 A.D. Democratic Leader Chet Szarejko, also Political Action Director of the Polish National Congress; 24 A.D. Democratic Leader David Weprin; 24 A.D. Democratic Leader Martha Taylor; 24th A.D. Democratic Leader Honey Miller; 35th A.D. Democratic Leader Hiram Monserrat; Barry Grodenchik, Chief Administrative officer to Queens Borough President Claire Shulman; Jeff Gottlieb, Chief of Staff to Councilman Morton Povman; Bernice Siegal, counsel to Council Member Sheldon Leffler; Bernice Spitzer, Deputy Press Secretary to Council Speaker Peter Vallone; Community School Board 26 President Sharon Maurer; Democratic Leader at Large Ethel Chen; Environmental Advisor to the City Council, James Gennaro, also President of the Jamaica Estates Association; Community School Board 29 Member Morshed Alam; Maurice Lewis, President Amalgamated Transit Union Local 1056; Dan Gonzales, Director Intergovernmental Affairs, Human Services Center; Marc Haken, Vice Chair Community Board 8; Mary Parella, Community Board 13 Executive Secretary; and Lois Marbach, chair of the Queens Coalition for Political Alternatives.

Jewish communal agency representatives included Rabbi Michael Miller, Executive Vice President Jewish Community Relations Council og Greater New York; past honoree Rabbi Bob Kaplan, Director of Intergroup Relations and Community Concerns of the Jewish Community Relations Council of Greater New York; Mike Nussbaum, President, American Jewish Congress Metropolitan Region; Executive Director Arthur Flug of American Jewish Congress Metropolitan Region; past honoree Rabbi Meyer Bilitzky, Chair, NEQJCC Clergy Council; Past NEQJCC President and honoree Dr. Arnold Honig, founding President of the Northern Queens Health Coalition; past honoree Manny Behar Executive Director, Queens JCC; Jan,Fenster Executive Vice President, Queens JCC; Sharon Nadel, Executive Director, NEQJCC, Dr. Steve Goodman, Executive Vice President, Samuel Field Y; past honoree Mady Caslow, Associate Director, Samuel Field Y; Iris Levine, Jewish Board of Family & Children�s Services/ Pride of Judea; Byron Dresner, President, Flushing Jewish Community Council; Rabbi Michael Ehrlich, Oakland Jewish Center Rabbi Jay Rosenbaum, Temple Israel of Jamaica , the Executive Director of the North American Board of Rabbis; Rabbi Barry Hammer, Young Israel of New Hyde Park; Rabbi Evan Radler, Hillcrest Jewish Center; Chuck Waxman, President Young Israel-New Hyde Park; Dr. Len Stieglitz President, Jewish Center of Bayside Hills; Former NEQJCC Vice President Marcia Federman; and former NEQJCC Treasurer Larry Greenberg, also President of the Eastern Queens Democratic Club

Home | Calendar | Media | Officers | Members | Resources